Defining Documents in American History: Manifest Destiny and the New Nation (1803-1860)

At A Glance

2 Volumes
600 Pages
60 Essays
60 Lesson Plans
Primary Source Documents
Time Line
Complete List of Contents
General Bibliography
List of Web Resources

Spread the Word

Free Online Access

Unlimited Users & Remote Access Included

Instant Online Activation When You Order

Defining Documents

The following titles make up the entire Defining Documents series:

Exploration and Colonial America (1492-1755)

The American Revolution (1754-1805)

Manifest Destiny & the New Nation (1803-1859)
The American West (1836-1900)
Civil War  (1860-1896)
Reconstruction & Development of the Industrial United States  (1865-1880)
The Emergence of Modern America (1868-1918)
World War I (1914-1920)
The 20s (1920-1929)
The 30s (1930-1939)
World War II (1936-1946)
Post-War 1940s (1945-1949)

Customer Service

If you need help with products and ordering, setting up a new account or working with this website, call or email us:

Phone: (800) 221-1592

Download a Free Poster

Download and print a poster to promote your titles in your school or library.

" ...this work provides a unique insight into some
of the most important legal, social, political,
and philosophical works influencing or
condemning Manifest Destiny. "
- Booklist

Spetember 2013 · 2 volumes
300 pages/volume (600 total)

Includes Online Database with
Print Purchase
ISBN: 978-1-4298-3742-2
# of Pages: 600
# of Volumes: 2
Print List Price: $295
add to cart
e-ISBN: 978-1-4298-3745-3
eBook Single User Price: $295

Defining Documents in American History:
Manifest Destiny and the New Nation (1803-1859)
Defining Documents offers a broad range of historical documents on important authors and subjects in American history, with primary source documents, in-depth analysis, and comprehensive lesson plans.

Defining Documents offers a broad range of historical documents on important authors and subjects in American history. Each two-volume title, designed in consultation with an expert in the field, contains approximately 80 primary source documents with an in-depth critical analysis. Articles begin by introducing readers to the historical context, followed by a description of the author’s life and circumstances in which the document is written. A document analysis, written by professional writers and historians, guides readers in understanding key elements of language, rhetoric, and social and political meaning that define the significance of the author and document in American history. Each title is organized by chapter themes, highlighting major ideas in the period. The series begins with a collection of exploration and colonial documents, and continues to cover every time period in American history. 

This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions. Documents represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that define social, political and cultural subjects throughout American history. 

An important supplement to each historical document is a carefully designed lesson plan, which follows national history standards for learning, to guide students and educators in document analysis and historical comprehension. Study questions, activities, and suggested author pairings will establish the legacy of documents and authorship for readers today. In addition, comparative analysis highlights how every document emerges from a myriad of social and political influences. 
A historical timeline and bibliography of important supplemental readings will support readers in understanding the broader historical events and subjects in the period. An introduction for each of the major subjects covered in the title considers the significance of document analysis for students and educators. 
The set is centered on the following themes:

Antebellum Law and Politics
Manifest Destiny
The Spirit of Reform
African American Protest Literature
The New American Identity
Religious Expansion
Native American Land and Autonomy

The series covers the following periods:

  1. I. Exploration and Colonial America (1492-1755)
  2. II. The American Revolution (1754-1805)
  3. III. Manifest Destiny and the New Nation (1803-1859)
  4. IV. Civil War (1860-1865)